Weird and wonderful boat insurance

We got out "pleasure craft" insurance documents last week from Allianz c/o Douglas Insurance Services in Belfast c/o Tom Leonard. Cover starts from 11th May 2006 for one year.

I don't usually read through the small print in such things, but this caught my eye:

We are not covered for

"… any weapon or device employing atomic or nuclear fission and/or fusion…"

I guess I'd better jettison them on top of the many flying boats at the bottom of the Lower Lough! Flying boats were reportedly scuttled after the Second World War as the cheapest means of disposal. Some may have been located:

:… According to local knowledge after the war the Catalinas were scuttled in the northern section of the Narrows along with other unwanted equipment… "

The insurance also says:

Water-skiing and the towing of toys, rings, bananas, biscuits and the like are excluded. (!)

  1. l3dz3p

    Enjoyed your blog very much, very informative. You have a very lovely family and I have actually seen you in Harmony 111….when I was there last year on holidays with my family. We usually rent a cruiser up there, this been the first year we missed for six years because we have another child born 2 months ago so we thought we would give it a break for this year. Fingers crossed we shall make it back for 2008 god willing…its a really lovelly place. I was actually checking to see if you had updated anything here, as I do quite regular. I found it very interesting to read all the details of the contition the boat was in, survey, insurance etc….its something I would like to do myself sometime in the future, then maybe one day I will be writing my own boating blog 🙂
    Take care and good luck!




Leave a Reply

